Our History

Somewhere near 1930, Mr. U.V. Walker started this funeral home. He was later joined by Mr. Alex Edelen and Marshal Lyon.

Mr. Lyon later took over as sole owner and moved the funeral home to the old Coyle Drug Store building on Main Street until 1957 when he moved it to its present location. Mr. Marshall Lyon operated this business until this retirement in 1972.

Mr. Lyon then sold the business to his daughter and son-n-law, Libby and Tommy Breeding. They operated the business until 1986 when it was purchased by Mr. Larry DeWitt who operated the business through December 2013.  New owners, Daryl and Sharon Berry finalized the purchase of the funeral home in January, 2014 and changed the name to Lyon-DeWitt Berry Funeral Home.  Mr. DeWitt will stay associated with the business in an advisory role.

Mr. Lyon moved the funeral home in 1957 to the Chandler Home. Joseph H. Chandler built this two-story Italianate house, with a bungalow style porch, in 1873. Mr. Chandler served as state senator in the Kentucky Legislature.

The Lyon Funeral Home started with 11 rooms, six downstairs and five upstairs. In the 10-ft front entry hall, the spiraling, solid cherry balustrade is stunning. The house boasts six fireplaces. Through the years several expansions of the building were completed by Mr. DeWitt.

We invite you to come by anytime and visit this historical home.